Umrah visa and documents for Moroccans: the published rules

Message Wiki Tours, the guide's publisher

This page sets out the published entry rules for Umrah as they apply to Moroccans. It separates two situations in every section, because the answer often differs: Moroccans who live in Morocco, and Moroccans who live abroad, in Europe, North America or elsewhere.

Each rule comes with its source and its status. When the source is a newspaper rather than a Saudi authority, the outlet is named in the same sentence, and the rule is worth checking again before you pay. One of these rules, the time allowed to use the visa, changed in 2025, according to Gulf News3. They may change again.

Many readers are preparing the trip for a parent. Where it helps, we say what that changes: the parent's situation, not yours, decides which route applies.

Which document lets Moroccans enter for Umrah?

Living in Morocco

For Moroccans living in Morocco, the documented route is an Umrah visa obtained through an approved Umrah provider: as of 20 October 2026, we found no official source confirming that they can get the Saudi tourist eVisa or apply alone as an “individual pilgrim” on Nusuk1.

This is not a statement that the other routes are closed. It means that no official text we found opens them to residents of Morocco. We do not say it is possible, and we do not say it is impossible. When an official source settles the question, this page will say so, with the date.

Living abroad

Moroccans who live abroad may be in a different position. According to the ministry's Umrah guide (edition date not stated), those who can apply for the eVisa, which allows Umrah, include permanent residents of the European Union, North America, Oceania and some Asian countries, and holders of a valid US, UK or Schengen visa1.

The tourist eVisa allows Umrah outside the Hajj season but not Hajj, which requires a dedicated visa, according to The National (2022)8. The full picture for the diaspora is in our guide for Moroccans living abroad.

Can you apply without an agent?

The official “Nusuk Umrah” service has existed since August 2025, but no published list confirms that Morocco is among the countries it covers2. What is known and not known about that route, for residents of Morocco and for Moroccans abroad, is set out in our explainer on applying alone from Morocco.

How long do you have to travel, and to stay?

According to Gulf News, since around 1 November 2025 the Umrah visa must be used within 1 month of issuance, compared with 3 months before, and an unused visa is cancelled after 30 days3. Once you have arrived, a stay on an Umrah visa can last up to 3 months, according to Gulf News3.

For families, the first rule matters most: in practice, a document issued too early can lapse before the flight. Fix the flight dates first, then agree the issue date with whoever handles the file, not the other way round.

The season calendar also caps both windows: the last Umrah visas of the 1448 season are issued on 9 March 2027, the last entry is on 23 March 2027 and the last departure on 7 April 20279. Every date we track, with its status, is on the official calendar tracker.

What about the multiple-entry option?

According to Khaleej Times, around 20 July 2026 Saudi Arabia launched a multiple-entry Umrah visa valid for 1 year (365 days), for a total stay of 90 days, with a Nusuk package from a licensed provider required before each visit10. According to Khaleej Times, it is not valid during the Hajj season, from 1 Dhu al-Qadah to 13 Dhu al-Hijjah, it does not replace the standard Umrah visa, and whether Moroccans can access it is not known10.

For a family planning one trip for a parent, this product changes nothing yet. It is worth knowing about if you travel several times a year from abroad, once its availability for Moroccans is confirmed.

What is the Nusuk Masar hotel rule?

Since 10 June 2025, an Umrah visa is issued only if the accommodation is registered on the Nusuk Masar platform, in a hotel licensed by the Saudi Ministry of Tourism that confirms the booking electronically, according to Gulf Business and Khaleej Times, citing the Saudi ministry4. Nusuk Masar is the professional side of Nusuk, used by service providers and trip organisers.

In practice the hotel comes first and the visa second, according to Gulf Business and Khaleej Times, citing the Saudi ministry4.

Living in Morocco

On a provider-organised trip, the organiser registers the hotel. Ask for the hotel's name and the dates in writing, so that you can compare them with the booking confirmation and with what your parent is told at the airport.

Living abroad

If you travel on the eVisa and book your own hotel, our sources do not say whether the same Nusuk Masar registration applies to you. Ask the hotel, before you pay, whether the booking is registered on the platform, and keep its answer.

Is insurance included?

Yes for the Umrah visa: insurance is mandatory for Umrah pilgrims from abroad and is included in the visa fees, according to Gulf News, citing the ministry6. It covers medical emergencies, accidents, death and flight delays or cancellations, among others, according to Gulf News, citing the ministry6.

According to Gulf News (January 2023), the coverage cap of this insurance was raised to SAR 100,000 in early 2023 while its cost was reduced11.

What the included cover does not tell you is whether it suits an older parent with a chronic condition, or how a claim works in practice. For a parent with a health condition, read the policy terms the organiser hands over, and ask your doctor or your insurer whether additional cover makes sense.

For Moroccans travelling from abroad, our sources describe the insurance for pilgrims from abroad in general. They do not say whether the same cover applies on the tourist eVisa, so check the terms shown when you apply.

What if you live in Europe?

Then the eVisa route is the first one to check: according to the ministry's Umrah guide (edition date not stated), permanent residents of the European Union and holders of a valid UK or Schengen visa are among those who can apply1. The guide we read does not list every residence status, and a temporary residence card is not mentioned in our source.

The eVisa allows Umrah outside the Hajj season, not Hajj, according to The National (2022)8. If your plan is the Hajj, this page is not the right starting point: see Morocco's Hajj lottery for the official Moroccan cycle.

Three points for Moroccans abroad who organise a trip for a parent living in Morocco:

  • Your eligibility is not your parent's: a parent living in Morocco stays on the documented route through an approved Umrah provider, as of 20 October 20261.
  • If you travel together from two countries, align the dates first. Your parent's file and your own application run on separate timetables.
  • Keep the season's closing dates in view: the last entry for Umrah 1448 is on 23 March 20279.

How do you prepare the file, in order?

The order below follows the rules above. It does not add any rule of its own.

The sequence

  1. Decide who travels and from where, in Morocco or abroad, because the documented route differs between the two.
  2. Check the passport's expiry date early: the minimum validity Saudi Arabia expects for Umrah is not confirmed in our sources, so leave a generous margin and ask the organiser in writing.
  3. Check the meningococcal vaccination against the Saudi document: in the Umrah 1447 document it had to be received at least 10 days before arrival7. The details are in our meningitis page.
  4. Fix the flight dates before the visa is issued, since it must be used within 1 month, according to Gulf News3.
  5. Get the hotel's name and dates, registered on Nusuk Masar, before the visa is issued, according to Gulf Business and Khaleej Times, citing the Saudi ministry4.
  6. Keep copies of the passport, the health certificate and the bookings, on paper and on a phone, for the parent and for the person who follows the trip from home.

Words such as Nusuk, Nusuk Masar or miqat are explained in the Umrah and Hajj glossary, and the practical side of the stay in Umrah steps: the practical side.

What the sources do not say yet

  • Passport validity: we found no official Saudi source stating the minimum passport validity Moroccans need for Umrah.
  • eVisa for residents of Morocco: as of 20 October 2026, we found no official source confirming that a Moroccan living in Morocco can get the Saudi tourist eVisa1.
  • Nusuk Umrah and Morocco: no published list confirms that Morocco is among the countries the direct service covers2.
  • The Saudi visa centre in Morocco: in October 2023, the Saudi minister of Hajj and Umrah announced a visa centre in Morocco meant to cut the time to obtain a Saudi visa to 48 hours; its current operation has not been checked12.
  • The multiple-entry visa for Moroccans: whether Moroccans can access it is not known, according to Khaleej Times10.
  • Other residence statuses abroad: our source lists permanent residents and holders of a valid US, UK or Schengen visa, according to the ministry's Umrah guide (edition date not stated)1. It says nothing, in our reading, about temporary residents or students.
  • The edition date of the ministry's guide: it is not stated, so its eligibility list may have changed since it was written.
  • The Saudi health document for 1448: we have not found it, so we rely on the 1447 document7.

Getting help from an agency

Reading the rules does not settle who handles what. An agency can prepare the file, register the hotel on Nusuk Masar and arrange transport, but it cannot change any rule on this page. Whichever agency you consider, check its licence before you pay, including the licence of this guide's publisher: until the official proof is published, this site claims nothing about it. agenceomra.ma explains how to check an agency's licence. If you want to talk it through, the button below opens a chat with the guide's publisher.

References consulted

  1. haj.gov.sa, accessed 20 October 2026
  2. haj.gov.sa, accessed 20 October 2026
  3. gulfnews.com, accessed 20 October 2026
  4. gulfbusiness.com, accessed 20 October 2026
  5. khaleejtimes.com, accessed 20 October 2026
  6. gulfnews.com, accessed 20 October 2026
  7. moh.gov.sa, accessed 20 October 2026
  8. thenationalnews.com, accessed 20 October 2026
  9. haj.gov.sa, accessed 20 October 2026
  10. khaleejtimes.com, accessed 20 October 2026
  11. gulfnews.com, accessed 20 October 2026
  12. en.hespress.com, accessed 20 October 2026
  13. arabnews.com, accessed 20 October 2026

Readers' questions

Can a Moroccan living in Morocco apply online alone?

We cannot say yes. As of 20 October 2026, we found no official source confirming that a Moroccan living in Morocco can get the Saudi tourist eVisa or apply for an Umrah visa alone as an individual pilgrim on Nusuk; going through an approved Umrah provider remains the documented route1.

I am Moroccan and a permanent resident in France: which route applies to me?

Permanent residents of the European Union are among those who can apply for the eVisa, which allows Umrah, according to the ministry's Umrah guide (edition date not stated)1. Check your exact status on the official application before you pay anything.

Why do organisers ask for the hotel before anything else?

Since 10 June 2025, an Umrah visa is issued only if the accommodation is registered on the Nusuk Masar platform, in a hotel licensed by the Saudi Ministry of Tourism that confirms the booking electronically, according to Gulf Business and Khaleej Times, citing the Saudi ministry4.